Periods (or lack thereof)

I was at the campus health center a few days ago, and of course, one of the first questions the nurse asked me was “When was your last period?”

Whenever doctors/nurses/other health workers ask me this, I have to launch into the “I don’t get periods” talk.

“WHAATTTTT?” You may be thinking. “This chick DOESN’T get periods! How lucky! And possibly unhealthy!”

Let me explain why.

I started menstruating when I was 13. Shortly thereafter, my periods got super wacky. And not just normal irregularity that is common when you first start menstruating. I mean super heavy, sometimes only 10 days between each period wacky. And bleeding through tampons and pants at school. It really sucked.

So we went to my gyny, who put me on birth control pills to regulate/lighten my flow. Yay!

My periods started to not just get lighter, but completely disappear – even when I was taking the placebo pills. So I asked my gyny about this, and she said “Well since you’re not getting periods anyway, just don’t bother taking the placebos. Go right to the next pack.” She wrote out my prescription so I would always be able to refill early and therefore be able to take a pill every day.

I haven’t gotten a period since (except for one week of spotting).

Sometimes when my friends find out I don’t get periods, they question whether or not that is healthy. Many people claim that it’s “unnatural” and therefore unhealthy to skip periods like that.

I’m not a medical professional, but the ones I’ve talked to have said there is no issue with it.** Blood doesn’t come out of my vagina – so what? The only reason I’d need a period is if I want reassurance that I’m not pregnant. (To be super safe, and for extra lubrication, my boyfriend and I use condoms anyway, so the likelihood of me getting pregnant is very low. I take a pregnancy test once in a while though, just to be sure.)

Here’s some of the benefits I reap from not getting a period:

1. I was at risk for developing iron deficiency anemia back when I was menstruating, but not anymore.

2. I help the environment – no more pad and tampon waste!

3. I didn’t particularly like the anxiety revolving around crazy heavy periods (When’s it gonna come? I hope I don’t bleed through my clothes! Oh no!), so none of that anymore!

How much does this lack of periods cost? Nowadays…. NOTHING!! Thanks to Obamacare! There’s many other benefits often associated with birth control pills in general, such as easing PMS, reducing acne, reduced risk of ovarian cancer, etc. But I just wanted to share the extra benefits I get from not getting a period at all.

Why did I write this post? I wanted to share my experience with being on continuous birth control. I hoped this post was enlightening, but remember to talk to your own doctor before making decisions like this!

Are you on continuous birth control? What are your experiences with it? Anything else you’d like to say? Let me know in the comments below!

**Although, if you’re considering skipping periods, you should talk to your own doctor first, since you may have different health concerns than I do.

3 comments

  1. I’ve been stopping my periods for years with the pill. Can’t remember the last time I had a period. I started doing this with Seasonale and it worked for awhile then started having spotting. Got put on a Loestrin and was told to skip the placebos and start the next pack to keep suppressing my periods.

    Then after a couple years of doing this I wondered if I could still have periods so I did the four days of placebos and there was no period. I did this for a few more months and still no period. Which was fine with me because that’s the only reason I take the pill. I don’t need it for birth control. Doctor said it’s common for women to not have a period while on Loestrin, even though they take the four days of placebos. So I just take it like normal and still don’t have to mess around with a period.

    Most medical professionals say it’s perfectly safe to suppress your period. I won’t go into the hows and whys of it as I’m sure you’ve read up on it. The only thing I’m concerned about at this point is that the risk of blood clots goes up with age when you’re taking the pill. And I’m not getting any younger. I read a story that kind of scared me about a woman who was perfectly healthy in every way but had a heart attack in her 40s. The only thing the doctors could connect it to is that she was on the pill. Whether the pill caused her heart attack or not can’t really be determined but it is suspect. For that reason, I wonder if I should still be taking it.

    Like

  2. I’m on Loestrin too! It’s pretty great. It’s cool to actually know someone else who does the same thing, instead of just random people I find via Google search.
    Blood clots do kind of concern me too, but I’m only 19 so I don’t think it’s much of an issue for now. Middle age might bit more concerning.

    Like

  3. As long as you’re a non-smoker and young, risk of blood clots is low.
    Nice to meet another period-stopper. We don’t have to have them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

